Buying, Renting, and Selling Timeshares

Huge Difference Between Purchase and Resale

Mar 22, 2007

Hello, I am new to timesharing and new to this site/forum. With no previous TS experience, my wife and I succumbed to the pitch when vacationing in Mexico in January (Peublo Bonito Sunset Beach). We did all the math and it seemed to make sense and be a good deal. We bought a floating EOY.

Now that I am back and doing more research on exchanges (and seeing what if anything my 4 bonus RCI weeks are worth), I am totally steamed when looking at the resale values. I basically could have bought the same thing on this site for 40% of the cost.

I have seen several posts that state the fact that the resale value is much lower, but a 60% drop seems outrageous to me. I know that every time I sleep in that bed I am going to be thinking about how much less that it should have cost me (for 30 years!!!!)

Even a new car does not depreciate that much when driving it off the lot. Does anyone have any understanding of how this secondary market became this way?

Second question, can I also assume that the RCI bonus week certificates that I recieved have very little trading power and are not linked to my home location?

Thanks, Todd

Todd M.
Mar 22, 2007

toddm87 wrote:
Hello, I am new to timesharing and new to this site/forum. With no previous TS experience, my wife and I succumbed to the pitch when vacationing in Mexico in January (Peublo Bonito Sunset Beach). We did all the math and it seemed to make sense and be a good deal. We bought a floating EOY.

Now that I am back and doing more research on exchanges (and seeing what if anything my 4 bonus RCI weeks are worth), I am totally steamed when looking at the resale values. I basically could have bought the same thing on this site for 40% of the cost.