Sep 21, 2007

So this is my first time trying to rent a timeshare. I don't know what i should do. i am reading about deposits and agreements. Can someone who is exerienced please tell me how things work and what i should do being a first timer?

Lynn R.
Sep 22, 2007

If you are trying to rent your OWNED week you can rent it to anyone you choose. If you are trying to rent a week you have deposited and exchanged (with RCI or II) then that's not allowed. You CAN give/gift an exchange to family or friends by purchasing a guest certificate and the only monies that are allowed to be reimbursed you are the cost of the exchange fee and the guest certificate fee (somewhere around $213). Anything over that amount would be considered profit and is not allowed.

R P.
Sep 22, 2007

I understand too, if you are an RCI Points member, that you cannot even rent your "home" unit, even if it has not been exchanged for points in the current year.

David D.
Sep 22, 2007

I am not using anything through RCI. i own a timeshare throught Fairfield and will not be using it this upcoming year. I set up a reservation for a week in an area i think people would like to rent.

Could anyone tell me where i can get a rental agreement and what is typical for a deposit? Basically what procedures to you all go through when you rent out a timeshare.

Also could i sell my points that i will have leftover from the year for fairfield? Everything i'm seeing on here is things set up for certain places for certains time frames. I'd love to just sell the points for the year, but i haven't really seen people doing that.

And on other quesitons what destinations and time of the year is the most desirable? What sells the quickest typically.

Lynn R.

Last edited by lynnr90 on Sep 22, 2007 08:36 PM

Sep 23, 2007

lynnr90 wrote: