Buying, Renting, and Selling Timeshares

Deeded timeshare taxes & residency issues

Dec 09, 2007

I am a UH student. I live in Hawaii 12-months a year. I have a part time job and I file my own taxes. Because I moved here from the mainland as a student, 30 credit hours a year, I have to pay out of state tuition. I'm told that "if I own real estate in Hawaii", I would be eligible for in-state tuition. If I buy a deeded timeshare, and have the deed recorded in my name, would that qualify me for the much lower in-state tuition?

Tom A.
Dec 10, 2007

toma81 wrote:
I am a UH student. I live in Hawaii 12-months a year. I have a part time job and I file my own taxes. Because I moved here from the mainland as a student, 30 credit hours a year, I have to pay out of state tuition. I'm told that "if I own real estate in Hawaii", I would be eligible for in-state tuition. If I buy a deeded timeshare, and have the deed recorded in my name, would that qualify me for the much lower in-state tuition?
=========== You should be checking with the appropriate officials who would make the final decision. UH residency requirements are outlined very clearly on their website (www.hawaii.edu/admrec/res.html). The ownership of a timeshare does not make one a resident. Good Luck with your studies.

Mike N.
Dec 10, 2007

toma81 wrote:

I agree completely with Mike's provided reply above.

With all due respect, a general Internet discussion forum on timeshares is hardly the best (or even an appropriate) place to obtain a definitive (or binding) answer on the legal residency requirements of a state educational institution, whose policies have their origins under the applicable provisions of state law.

KC
Dec 11, 2007