Ask RedWeek

Rent from someone who obtained a week on Interval

Jun 08, 2017

I'm new to renting timeshare but did do my research. I've read it's not a good idea to rent someone's week that they obtained on II since it's against their T&Cs and I could potentially lose the week.

The week I am renting isn't advertised anywhere online and the person I am dealing with said they'd get a guest certificate and put the reservation in my name via that certificate. He wants $100 deposit and the balance once he gives me the confirmation in my name.

He said he's done it multiple times and it's worked out fine. I'm new to this, so unsure how to proceed. Any advice? Should I go through with this or no?

Jonathan H.
Jun 08, 2017

jonathanh134 wrote:
I'm new to renting timeshare but did do my research. I've read it's not a good idea to rent someone's week that they obtained on II since it's against their T&Cs and I could potentially lose the week.

The week I am renting isn't advertised anywhere online and the person I am dealing with said they'd get a guest certificate and put the reservation in my name via that certificate. He wants $100 deposit and the balance once he gives me the confirmation in my name.

He said he's done it multiple times and it's worked out fine. I'm new to this, so unsure how to proceed. Any advice? Should I go through with this or no?

It's your decision to make, but you seem to already know that renting out exchanges is VERY clearly prohibited by the terms and conditions of membership of **BOTH** RCI and II.