Ask RedWeek

Renting Timeshare Exchange

Aug 13, 2018

I have two units confirmed for Loreto - Villa Del Palma Nov 3-10th, 2018. These are exchanges from my home property - Marriott Newport Coast. Can I rent these thru RedWeek? I have both certificates and a guest transfer fee is all that is needed - $69/unit. Please advise....

John B.
Aug 13, 2018

johnb2763 wrote:
I have two units confirmed for Loreto - Villa Del Palma Nov 3-10th, 2018. These are exchanges from my home property - Marriott Newport Coast. Can I rent these thru RedWeek? I have both certificates and a guest transfer fee is all that is needed - $69/unit. Please advise....

In their terms and conditions of membership, RCI and II both clearly and specifically prohibit the rental of exchanges obtained through them. Getting caught in violation can result in membership suspension or termination, with outright cancellation of the exchange. I have no knowledge of the policies or practices of other exchange companies.

Any tenant-to-be should always verify they are not getting themselves involved with rental of a week obtained via RCI or II exchange. It would be a shame to make plans, incur travel costs and later be denied occupancy upon arrival.

Do people often "get away with" overtly violating this RCI and II policy prohibiting the rental of weeks obtained by exchange? Yes. Do you want to risk paying the consequences if caught being a participant (on either end of the transaction) violating this clear and specific prohibition? I guess that's a personal decision...

KC

Last edited by ken1193 on Aug 13, 2018 02:37 PM

Aug 13, 2018

Thanks - I gather the bet way to deal with this them is right thru II. Thanks again....

John B.
Aug 13, 2018

johnb2763 wrote:
Thanks - I gather the best way to deal with this then is right thru II. Thanks again....

I am not exactly sure what you mean....